St. Mary’s C of E Primary  
SCHOOL Board Of Governors

 St Mary’s CE Primary School Governing Board

The purpose of the Governing Board is to help the school to provide the best possible education for its pupils. The Governing Board sets the school aims and policies together with the Headteacher. The Governors have responsibilities in such areas as curriculum, finance, premises, personnel and special educational needs. No individual governor has any power unless delegated by the Governing Board. The Governing Board as a whole is responsible for any decisions made. 

Chair of Governors


Eleanor Amos

Parent Governors Staff Governors

Bonnie Van Zanten-Rice


Richard Amey


Andrew Hargreaves

(Child Protection Governor)


Naomi Clarke

Glenys Stevens
(Pupil Premium Governor)


LA Governors



Foundation Governors


Co-opted Governors

Rev Ian Tweedie-Smith

Marie Dempsey

Julia Knowles

Eleanor Amos


Jodie Hill

Sam Lenders

Clerk to the Governors

Elizabeth Wilson

Karen Wright





The chart below is a register of Governors' Details and  Business Interests.


Governor Visits to School

Governors regularly come into school to gain insight to the school in operation and can record the outcome of their visit using the Governor Visit Record form with Template Guidance Info.

Full Governing Body Annual Report 2016/17

This report sets out the key objectives for the Full Governing Body (FGB) in the 2016/17 academic year and charts their impact on the school. It also shows the attendance record of governors. Click here to open the report.


Becoming a Governor

Details of who can and cannot become a school governor can be found on Chapter 2, page 7 of A guide to the Law for School Governors at, or via the school office. Some people are not eligible to become a school governor. 

If you would like more information about becoming a school governor, or would like to speak with the existing parent governors about their role, please contact the Clerk via e-mail using